Admins have the ability to soft delete members from the Program Members tab, which means removing a member to free up a license but to allow them to rejoin a program without another invitation, provided the contract has not been fully consumed. When removing a member, there is now an option (disabled by default) to allow them to rejoin the program without an explicit invitation. If the option is checked, your learner will receive an email that informs them they’ve been removed but can return via a link to the program.
What is it?
Normally, when a learner is removed from a program, they are not allowed to return without an invitation being resent. Often times, the intention of an Admin is to remove a learner that has been inactive or hasn’t enrolled in any courses in order to free up a license for another employee that is more likely to use it. However, you might be perfectly willing to let the employee back in if they express interest and there is available room. Soft deletion is a way of removing learners but allowing them to return without having to do the manual work of sending more invitations. We have added this as an option in the removal confirmation that is disabled by default, since often times Admins still do not want them to come back (such as for employees that have left the company).
When should it be used?
- If your instance is on the License model and want to take proactive steps to ensure maximal utilization of licenses.
- If you wish to free up licenses by removing inactive users but are willing to let them back in when they’re ready.
How do I use it?
Navigate to a program, navigate to the “Members” tab > select one or more members you would like to remove > select the delete button:
A confirmation popup will appear. You will see two options to choose from which includes the option to allow them back to the program without an invitation. Once you’ve selected your options, press “Remove”.
How does the removed learner get notified?
The removed learner will receive an email notifying them of being removed from the program, but also letting them know that they can rejoin.
Once the learner selects the button to “Rejoin Program” or navigates back to the program URL, they will see a message similar to the below:
What happens if there are no available licenses?
In this case, the learner will not be able to join the program, with a message instructing them to reach out to their learning professional:
How does this show up in reports?
In the membership report, there is now a new Member State value called “SOFT_DELETED_MEMBER”: